Alkaline Rocks and Carbonatites of the World

Setup during HiTech AlkCarb: an online database of alkaline rock and carbonatite occurrences



Occurrence number: 
Longitude: 77.03, Latitude: 50.77

The Tleumbetskii intrusion is situated in the region of Chingiz-Tarbogotay. It is a large complex with an area of 175 km2. The earliest rocks are porphyritic medium-grained riebeckite-arfvedsonite-biotite granites and syenites which are cut by small stocks and dykes of peralkaline granosyenite and granite porphyry. Alteration of these rocks is expressed by the development of albite and chlorite and zones of greisen. The rocks are exceptionally rich in accessory minerals including fluorite, zircon, orthite, monazite, ferrothorite, topaz, ilmenite, titanite, apatite, pyrite, baryte, columbite and garnet with more rarely scheelite, rutile, anatase, galena and wulfenite.

There is sulphide, rare earth phosphate and rare earth greisen type mineralisation (Nurlibayev, 1973).
Geological evidence indicates an early Permian age (Monich et al., 1965).

MONICH, V.K., ABDRAKHMANOV, K.A., NURLIBAYEV, A.N., ZHYR'ANOV, V.N., STAROV, V.I., NARSEEV, A.A., BUGAEZ, A.N. and SEMENOV, Yu, A. 1965a. Alkaline intrusions of Kazakhstan and their age correlation. Abstracts of the First Kazakhstan Petrographic Conference. Kazakhstan Academy of Science, Alma-Ata. 19-22.
MONICH, V.K., IVANOV, A.I., KOMLEV, L.V., LAPICHEV, G.F. and SEMENOV, T.P. 1965b. Age of magmatic and metamorphic rocks of the East Kazakhstan geochronological scale. In Magmatism and metamorphism of East Kazakhstan. 27-8. Akademii Nauk Kazakhstan SSR, Alma-Ata.
NURLIBAYEV, A.N. 1973. Alkaline rocks of Kazakhstan and their ore deposits. Nauka, Alma-Ata. 296 pp.
ZIRYANOV, V.N. 1964. Nepheline syenites of the middle Prichingiz. Izvestia Akademii Nauk Kazakhstan SSR, Alma-Ata. Seriya Geologicheskaya, 5: 57-67.

Fig. 2_77. Tleumbetskii (after Ermolov, 1988, Fig 22).
Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith